Poets logo

Hot Pepper

I'm decidedly not a spice girl

By M. A. Mehan Published 2 years ago Updated 2 years ago 1 min read
Like
Hot Pepper
Photo by Marcos Paulo Prado on Unsplash

I tried a hot pepper

On my coworker’s prompt,

How was I to know

My tongue would be swamped

With horrors so spicy

A fire of agony.

I coughed up the fumes

and I felt rather dragon-y.

It settled deep in my mouth,

Burned my teeth and my gums

My heart started beating

Like an out-of-sync drum.

But it didn’t stop there,

It smoldered for hours.

Even my sug'ry lemonade

Could not stop its spice powers.

That blasted hot pepper’s

Bent on giving me grief,

But both my nostrils are clear now,

So I guess that’s a relief.

If you’d ask me to rate it,

It’s a zero of ten.

If you’re e’er asked to try one,

I would not recommend.

surreal poetry
Like

About the Creator

M. A. Mehan

"It simply isn't an adventure worth telling if there aren't any dragons." ~ J. R. R. Tolkien

storyteller // vampire // drink goblin // desert rat

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.