Poets logo

Hot Embers

Cold Heart

By Kelli Sheckler-AmsdenPublished about a year ago Updated about a year ago 1 min read
9
Hot Embers
Photo by Mara Ket on Unsplash

Hot embers on a cold heart

Got nothing left - of me to give

I tried resetting me to restart

Cuz this ain’t no way - for one to live

The buttons broke, repaired with duct tape

Guess I’ve pushed it here before

Probably the last time I said - the last time

As you were walking out the door

~~~~~~~~~~

So keep on askin’ for a handout

It’s not the askin’ that annoys me

It’s the expectation of a reply

That really digs - underneath my skin

~~~~~~~~~~~

No, I don’t expect for you to get it

You’ve not been one - for reasoning

I just thought I’d give a heads-up

This jukebox, ain’t gonna sing

I forgot the words, they have no meaning

Though, the melody never seemed to fit

Like the stretchy, left inside my spandex

Pulled about as much - as your gonna get

There was a time I’d try to fix that

But that ships, already sailed

Yeah, I’m a little short of effort

Why try if it’s bound to fail

~~~~~~~~~

So keep on askin’ for a handout

It’s not the askin’ that annoys me

It’s the expectation of a reply

That really digs - underneath my skin

slam poetry
9

About the Creator

Kelli Sheckler-Amsden

Telling stories my heart needs to tell <3 life is a journey, not a competition

If you like what you read, feel free to leave a tip, I would love some feedback

Find me on twitter @kelli7958958

or facebook

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  2. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

Add your insights

Comments (7)

Sign in to comment
  • JoAnn Ryanabout a year ago

    Powerful!

  • KJ Aartilaabout a year ago

    This is superb- reads like song lyrics, too. :)

  • Gideon 6ixabout a year ago

    "it is the expectation of a reply" Boom! Great work, I can envision the stage performance perfectly!🔥🔥🔥

  • sleepy draftsabout a year ago

    Powerful and poignant. 💗

  • Gina C.about a year ago

    So powerful and emotional. Really love this. Great job!

  • Cathy holmesabout a year ago

    Great piece with a strong message. Well done

  • Here for you on this, great words once more

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.