Poets logo

Hospital Sorrows

A Poem

By Kayla TriplettPublished 6 years ago 1 min read
Like
Photo taken by: Darkhalide photography

I see you laying there

In your death bed.

Watching as the nurses crowd the room.

Checking the tubes

That are the only thing keeping you alive.

Loud, beeping

Smother me in the room.

I see your old, wrinkled face

As you lay there in agony.

I sit in the chair that many have grieved in

From others that have died in this hospital.

Untold stories that are trapped within this chair I'm now sitting in.

Eventually my story will be added

To the endless stories that have been absorbed

within this chair.

Beep, beep the machine makes.

With every beep, my heart races

As it slowly counts down the seconds

Of your life.

I gaze up

Back into your sunken eyes,

Big nose, wrinkly soft skin

As I graze my fingers against it.

You stair at me

But your eyes are elsewhere

Looking at something other than me.

You can't see me anymore.

I see that now as your last seconds

Take place.

I lean in closer

Unsure if you'll hear what I'm about to say.

"Grandma I'm still here with you.

Let go of the pain your enduring

It's ok

You are needed elsewhere other than

These lifeless, white walls.

Close your eyes

And feel yourself slip into

Your next destination"

I leaned back

Still holding your hand for comfort.

I say a tear slide down your face,

Just one

As you smiled and

Closed your eyes

Forever...

sad poetry
Like

About the Creator

Kayla Triplett

I spent a majority of my life in Virginia. I've always wanted to make a difference and I feel I can through my art and writing. I make up stories with emotions I've once felt or dreamed of. Life is a journey and isn't always expected.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.