Poets logo

Hopelessly in Love.

Poetry about sad love

By Isabella RenteriaPublished 2 years ago 1 min read
1
Hopelessly in Love.
Photo by Brooke Cagle on Unsplash

You and I were complete opposites

But that didn’t matter to me

Before I met you, I didn’t have any goal in life

I never accomplished them at all

Until you came, encouraged and supported me

I felt like I could do anything in this world

As time went by, we became closer than ever

You always told me everything about yourself

While I shared a little, and you didn’t ask

I wished you would look at me the way I looked at you

My eyes are sparkling every time I see you

But you never noticed at all, and it breaks my heart

I waited and waited for you in the rain one night

Hoping you would hear me if I called out your name

But you were sound asleep in your bed, dreaming of a better world

I gave up in the end, and someone else got to you before I could

You smiled like the sun and you were happy, and I didn’t want to ruin it

As much as I wanted to tell you I loved you, I could only watch from afar

While you spent your entire life with him, leaving me all alone

And I’ll always be hopelessly in love with you…

sad poetry
1

About the Creator

Isabella Renteria

"Painting is silent poetry, and poetry is painting that speaks." - Plutarch

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.