Poets logo

Hopefully, We All Grow Old

#LoudLiesAreStillLies

By Judey Kalchik Published 3 days ago 1 min read
Made by the Author on Canva

Apparently

Growing old is a terrible thing.

Your age

and the impact on your body

throws a smokescreen up before

you.

Blinding people to the you

that has been your life-journey

to create.

~

Apparently

speaking softly

and considering your words

especially

when truth is such a scarce

member at the table,

makes people deaf to the veracity you share.

~

Apparently

growing old is worse than fascism

Life willing

we will grow old ourselves

But hopefully

not become fascists.

~

Or vote for one.

~

I make no secret of my disdain for the 45th President of the United States. The debate with the 46th President of the United States was AWFUL.

#45 came out loud, arrogant, and shedding lies like a dog sheds fleas. The fact, and it is a fact, that he confidently spoke the lies does not, in fact, turn them into truths.

#LoudLiesAreLies.

~Thoughtful comments welcome.

social commentary

About the Creator

Judey Kalchik

It's my time to find and use my voice.

Poetry, short stories, memories, and a lot of things I think and wish I'd known a long time ago.

You can also find me on Medium

And please follow me on Threads, too!

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For FreePledge Your Support

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (10)

  • Dharrsheena Raja Segarran3 days ago

    Politics is a circus and all politicians are clowns, lol.

  • Cathy holmes3 days ago

    Hell yeah to the millionth degree!

  • Preach. I would add, a lie oft repeated is still a lie.

  • Andrea Corwin 3 days ago

    BRAVO, Judy, you spoke my thoughts in this poem, and I love it!😍

  • Paul Stewart3 days ago

    I knew what this about before I even read it! Powerful title and subtitle and even more powerful words, Judey! Well written, as ever!

  • I'm not keen on the alternative to growing old, while Trump is disgusting a system that allows him to run for president is just as disgusting. Great poem

  • Lamar Wiggins3 days ago

    Ugh!!! That man has disgraced the #45 forever. 😡😡😡 I don’t even know where to start with him. He’s possibly committed every sin there is to commit. I wish they could set up a fact checker right beside him that corrects or shocks him every time one of those lies escapes that mouth.

  • Ameer Bibi3 days ago

    Growing old is worse than fascism Appreciated the insights

  • Hope Martin3 days ago

    The louder the lie the more empty it is too.

  • Novel Allen3 days ago

    I am shocked the 45th is still even allowed to run for the office. Where are the values of the country. If that is the best that the party can do, the it is a sad world indeed. Money and postering will take you anywhere...sad.

Judey Kalchik Written by Judey Kalchik

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.