Poets logo

Hooks in my Skin

An acrostic poem.

By Ruth StewartPublished 10 months ago 1 min read
15
Hooks in my Skin
Photo by Evgeny Nelmin on Unsplash

Trying to escape from

Ornery deceits.

Recalling past events,

The twisted punches of a lover

Undone.

Releasing old memories

Ending the resurgence of pain.

heartbreak
15

About the Creator

Ruth Stewart

I'm a grandmother of four amazing grandchildren and a mum of three fabulous children. I write poetry mainly, also prose and the odd story. I live in Scotland, UK. For a secret link to watch me read my favourite poems click right here!

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  2. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  3. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  1. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

  2. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  3. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  4. Masterful proofreading

    Zero grammar & spelling mistakes

  5. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

Add your insights

Comments (12)

Sign in to comment
  • Mackenzie Davis8 months ago

    Wow, Ruth. This incredibly written. A truly masterful poem, in that it says SO MUCH and only uses the necessary words. That final line gives me hope, though. What an emotional piece. Fantastic acrostic, truly.

  • Jazzy 8 months ago

    Ouch. I felt this myself, as I replay the moments in my mind. Very well done!

  • Beautifully written. I pray you be better with the release than I ever have been.

  • I absolutely love this one! Releasing old memories is so difficult. They say what does not kill us only makes us stronger. If nothing else, it gives us something to write about!

  • Dana Crandell10 months ago

    I don't know how I'd missed this one, but I'm glad Paul highlighted it. This is a amazing, Ruth!

  • Donna Renee10 months ago

    This is a powerful one ❤️❤️

  • Naomi Gold10 months ago

    This started out describing the very things that torture me, but somehow ended by describing exactly what would free me. Amazing!

  • Releasing old memories was so liberating! Loved your poem!

  • Dana Stewart10 months ago

    Powerful. You’ve succinctly defined it so very well. Great work.

  • Gerald Holmes10 months ago

    Just wow!!! This one hits hard. I don't think I've seen anything else that deals with this subject so well.

  • Adenubi John10 months ago

    Very brief but touching and insightful,nice one

  • Paul Stewart10 months ago

    This is stunning! Seriously good. Very emotive, very strong imagery. Great!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.