Poets logo

Honey & Glass?

To The Girl Who Wrote About Wanting to be Just Like All The Other Girls Made of Honey and Glass: Peyton Cardoza

By Melynda KlocPublished 3 years ago 1 min read
1
Honey and Glass By Peyton Cadoza

I heard a girl say

she wanted to be like all of the other girls

made of honey and glass

& I thought

'sweet, but fragile'

why?

don't you want to be so much more?

I want to be strong as metal,

forged in fire

hardened and smooth

and sharp

but

I want to be the softest

skin

the feather down

the Egyptian Cotton sheets

the supple smooth chocolate mousse

I want to be the softest meadow grass

covered in dew

turned to a shining, shimmering, glittering, firey, gorgeous gold for that perfect moment at sunrise when everything is touched with the light of the sun

I choose to be fire and iron

I have been forged and sculpted and picked and preened and prodded and made into what I am today

if I were to add honey and water to my fire,

I'd make a golden, sickly sweet, silky smooth honey syrup

and if I came up against glass,

I would melt and shatter the shards

so I could mold something new

to call my own

I want the flames to spread,

searing softly

from my very skin,

my fingers, my eyes, my mind,

I want the embers to burn bright

and steady

I want to be swift and strong,

one strike to slice you to your core,

only when I want to

inspirational
1

About the Creator

Melynda Kloc

Creating one-of-a-kind moments through immersive art and writing.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.