Poets logo

Honesty

The Truth You Won't Find in Lies

By Jennifer DavidPublished about a year ago Updated about a year ago 1 min read
2
Honesty
Photo by Sophie on Unsplash

The weight of the world, I hide it behind me

Shackled to my ankles dragging along

Newly red scars of today's struggles mar my skin

And despair, I’m no longer able to hide it from my eyes shielded by a down turned head

“She’s shy,” they’d tell themselves.

“These struggles will make her grow” they’d say silently

What they never cared to see was a lack of desire

to be seen,

to be loved,

befriended,

held close

Those feelings were buried where even I could not find them

Faking a smile because the sun rose was stupid to me

But hiding a tear stained flushed face was imperative

Because “there’s always something to be happy about.”

That’s how they'd gaslight me

Which didn't change the fact that

I wasn’t happy

I relished in pain

It was what I was given time and time again

like an all you can eat buffet

People wanted me to feel loved

Yet they ignored me

They walked by me like I did not exist

In sight and still out of mind

They taught me to be this way

and thought I would somehow be different

But I could never be

Because

Sorrow was my world

The cold welcomed me, as did the dark

And short sweet bursts of pain were the hugs that washed my tears away

sad poetry
2

About the Creator

Jennifer David

I hope my thoughts challenge yours

Connect with me on instagram!

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  2. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

Add your insights

Comments (2)

Sign in to comment
  • 𝐑𝐌 𝐒𝐭𝐨𝐜𝐤𝐭𝐨𝐧12 months ago

    There are so many who can relate to this emotion-packed poem. Jennifer, I don't know if this comes from a personal journey, but it is heartfelt and genuine, either way. At the end of a storm, there is supposed to be a rainbow. But what if it is just another storm, and the sky is always gray? Perhaps it is our job to shine light upon others' lives, when and how we can, even if it is just with a smile or words of encouragement. We never truly know the struggles others are going through or the pain they are masking. ♥️ There is a line in the movie The Princess Bride: "Life is pain." That is true; however, life is also joy. They are like two sides of the same coin. The yin and the yang. Without one the other cannot exist. Thank you for sharing your beautiful poem! ♥️

  • Jennifer David (Author)about a year ago

    I recently found this journal/poem that I wrote years ago and decided do something with it. I challenged myself to edit it within an hour and see how it goes, see what flows. And this is for now final product. I will most likely reread and revisit this writing many times before it is still unfinished. It may never be finished and to me that is the joy of writing. It's the joy of story telling and art. It is ever changing.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.