Poets logo

Homestead Dreams

(a poem?)

By Jenna Rae Mueller Published 2 years ago 1 min read
Like
Homestead Dreams
Photo by Nathan Anderson on Unsplash

As I dive down the rabbit hole that is researching my family's roots --- both on my deceased mother's side and my absent father's side and on each of their mother and father's side and so on -- I can't help but think about homesteads.

A homestead with a good community support sounds like a dream to me.

Did it feel like a dream to them?

I suppose it was just their way of life in those times. So, the answer is most likely no. However, I could be wrong on some level given the fact that staying rural seems to be a family theme.

At what point did we forget how to best use the herbs and plants growing around us?

At what point did we forget how to preserve food?

At what point did we forget how to govern ourselves?

These questions, I ask myself, but -- does the answer really matter?

How can I learn more?

How can I be more self-sufficient?

How can I teach my young ones these arts so that they hold them in their toolkit for when I no longer walk this earth?

art
Like

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.