Poets logo

Homesick

ET I am not

By Jeannine KauffmannPublished 3 years ago 1 min read
Like

I am not ET. I try so hard to fit in, to settle. But somehow, I never do.

I sit on the outside, looking in.

I understand the language, eat some of the food with gusto, relish some of the literature.

Sitting outside, on the beach or under a tree.

I reflect and collect myself for the next day of conforming.

A bit like pretend play, which I didn’t like as a child

But here it is a grown up playing pretend dressing up,

Always query wherever I go, What is the dress code? but I mostly get it wrong, anyway.

I am homesick not to go back somewhere I left a long time ago.

The memories are hazy.

The children I grew up with decades ago, have evolved into middle aged adults.

Speaking a language, I do not understand and living lives I have no share in.

Looking in from the outside, even the lay of the land is changed beyond recognition.

I am homesick of a place I am not told on a daily basis, that I am not from here, I don’t belong,

Like your accent, great dress sense, so garish, said in voices, that have me throw up my breakfast.

But I have tried years ago to adapt, to local ways nobody seems to follow.

I am homesick, of a town, village, country.

Where it doesn’t matter, where you are from and if your grand-parents haven’t been born here.

Where people don’t call your favourite food exotic.

Where children can play their games without constantly being reminded that,

They are not welcome as friends.

I am homesick for a slice paradise lost and forgotten.

sad poetry
Like

About the Creator

Jeannine Kauffmann

Poetry writer in the early morning. Poetry as a wake up call. Then later I draw lines and colours. I have a page on Instagram my art other than words although it contains words too. Titles are important to finish a piece like a full stop.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.