Poets logo

Homeless at Home

The worst of it is being told that it’s not a problem when in all actuality it’s an issue many young ones endure and grow up in that estranged way of life.

By Keanna Barry Published 3 years ago 1 min read
Like

Some may consider it just a building

Yet home is where the comfort lays

Where our dark feelings run to hide

With love from each and every member

We need to be reminded that home;

Home is our main gateway to peace

Peace is gladly welcomed in

Then within all honesty

Rude behaviour is then banned as a guest

Since the most peculiar thing to happen

By within the household is to feel

Well… is to feel loneliness

Yet each step I take I become more in tune

The idea that a house is not alone a home

Rather home is where the heart takes you to be free

Decisions are made and we pick at the crest

The door bells chime a silent invitation

And the door mat hasn’t been cleaned in ages

What is a home without its household?

An empty space that declares something else

Where in a world full of homelessness

It’s more than people living on the street

There’s a magnetic process that implies danger

Danger of the spirit from being neglected

One where I’m set being in my home living it as lonesome

When being homeless at home is nothing new

It’s an important call to pronounce on two

Reasons that forward pain like an email

Can’t eliminate the address of my body’s destination

As it walks it’s way into my common space

Home in collection of basic protection

Why must my permanent guest treat me so

In an abusive manor where I’m left in fear

Fear of being lunged into simple destiny

Whether this bodily made home is still mine

I reckon that there is purpose to keeping

And truthfully making aware of help

That only speaks its for you.

inspirational
Like

About the Creator

Keanna Barry

Give me a chance to help you with my own words?

My writing is intended to be read by you and the lessons being learned from what i am saying is all i pray and hope for to help improve quality of life for you, me, and like everyone else too!

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.