Poets logo

Homeless

I had a dream last night

By Alix NPublished 3 years ago 1 min read
Like
Homeless
Photo by Alex Ware on Unsplash

I had a dream last night:

The world was ending; you weren't there.

I tried to find you as the sky began to crumble,

running from room to room,

house to house,

searching for your face amidst the smoky haze

and the rubble.

I knew you were nearby

but you were out of sight, out of reach.

"How will we survive?" I thought,

"If we don't have each other?"

It was only a dream, though.

Just a dream.

And you're still not here.

But my question remains:

"How will we survive?"

How will I?

You've been gone for a while now,

drifting on the wind, carried away to...

Well, who knows?

That's how these things go, after all.

Memories are all that's left

of the walls we’d built around us.

Sturdy, safe, with a roof to give us shelter

from life's storms and gales;

from the hurricanes that would

batter down the door,

if we would only let them in.

Could we have laid a sturdier foundation?

Fortified the walls

to stop them caving in?

Could I have held up the ceiling

with my own two arms,

if they weren’t so busy wrapped around you?

I wonder if you ever think of me,

of that sanctuary we made

in each other's embrace.

The only place I ever felt

secure.

Safe.

Certain.

With you I was whole,

I was home.

heartbreak
Like

About the Creator

Alix N

Writer, author, editor & creator.

Lover of dogs, naps and chewy choc-chip cookies.

See how I 'gram: @alixcn

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.