Poets logo

Homeless

Trigger Warning: Emotional Abuse

By GracedlazydaisyPublished 3 years ago 1 min read
5
Homeless
Photo by Morgan Vander Hart on Unsplash

Fuck anyone who extends help for their own ego. You are not a good person, if you are only doing it to validate that you are good. Causing more harm, with power dynamics, control and soft threats of taking away what's offered for noncomplying with arbitrary rules that aren't even verbalized. Passive aggressive escalating to irritation, to ignoring to slamming doors and causing damage to physical property. Verbal outbursts. Violently shaking. Communicating boundaries of intolerance to this abusive behavior. Went from losing housing, to losing a friend. Accepting help when you are vulnerable opens up doors for cyclical abuse. That I am no longer tolerating. Despite unstable housing, setting firm boundaries has helped me raise my self worth. I will keep trusting. I won’t let one piece of shit person set me back. Because I now trust myself to handle explosive behavior and in the face of losing everything, I am not losing my mind and bending to someone’s whim or control. I think within this situation. I’ve found myself. My values, my voice. And I don’t give a shit of the consequences because I am nobody’s fucking toy.

slam poetry
5

About the Creator

Gracedlazydaisy

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.