Poets logo

"Homed"

I Am Not At Home

By Paula ShabloPublished 3 years ago 1 min read
17
Colorado Designated Bedroom

In the last several years I have been “homed”

What that means to me is

Wherever I go

Between here and there

There’s a room and a bed

And people who love me

~*~*~

This house is my mother’s home

It was my father’s home, too

Until he went to his eternal home last year

When I was a teenager, it was my home

But I left it behind me and made my own home

Many years ago

~*~*~

Once I had a home

My home was Colorado

The Rocky Mountains in the west

Looming in the near distance, so lovely

But the house there is home to

Son and daughter-in-law now

And I am just the visitor

In the designated bedroom

~*~*~

My belonging reside in boxes

Under my desk in Colorado

I don’t know where anything is anymore

My clothes are on a laundry rack in

My teen-hood room downstairs

That room houses my Wyoming belongings

But now I sleep upstairs

In case I’m needed in the night

~*~*~

I am content, for now

To wander back and forth

Between the places that “home” me while I’m there

But I wonder, late at night

While I listen for Mom’s breathing

Or calls for assistance

If there will ever be a place for me again

Someday

That feels like I’ve finally come home

sad poetry
17

About the Creator

Paula Shablo

Daughter. Sister. Mother. Grandma. Author. Artist. Caregiver. Musician. Geek.

(Order fluctuates.)

Follow my blog at http://paulashablo.com

Follow my Author page at https://www.amazon.com/Paula-Shablo/e/B01H2HJBHQ

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.