Poets logo

Homecoming

Poetry

By Hyacinth AndersenPublished 11 months ago 1 min read
Like

Mother, mother

do not cry for me so.

God called upon me

for it was my time to go.

He sent you my soul

because of all the love

you had to give –

even though he already knew

of my very short time to live.

You cherished me

and took care of me

as only God knew you could.

You chased away bad influences

and taught me to be righteous and good.

You encouraged me

to sing and share my talents

with everyone before us –

not realizing that one day soon

I would be leading God’s heavenly chorus.

Mother,

though you have not been called

and on earth God wants you to wait –

remember, there will come a time

when I will greet you at heaven’s gate.

inspirational
Like

About the Creator

Hyacinth Andersen

I write poetry, fiction, and nonfiction.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.