Poets logo

Homecoming

The beauty and magic in returning home.

By Annie McDonaldPublished 3 years ago 2 min read
Like

As I speed along the

brown, dusty road

I can sense the

magic

in the air.

Surrounding me are

emerald green paddocks,

dotted throughout

with towering camps of gums.

Sentinels of this

cherished place.

I take a deep breath

feeling the cool, shimmering air

envelop my lungs,

as the triumphant

sense of freedom

washes all over me.

The magic, you see

is in this homecoming.

When I am away, it feels as if

time here stands still.

Yes,

the abundant life here keeps on going

but my place it in is frozen,

left open for me to return to

when I can.

The closer I get,

the less my head feels like

it's underwater;

the less my mind feels like it going to

burst

from the endless

expectations and encumbrances

that sometimes suffocate me.

My car kicks up the dirt

and I pass over the metal grate;

the final trial

to overcome,

to enter

the heart of

this magical place.

I look to my right and

see the belligerant bachelor and

his adoring ladies

staring lazily back at me.

A weight drops off my shoulders.

I look to my left and

see the hapless hens being

rounded up by the happy hound

who hears the car and races to catch up.

Another weight falls.

I look ahead

and there it is.

All the weight in the world comes crashing down from me.

The ruby roof sparkling in the sunshine, winking at me.

The wrap-around verandah opening its arms in welcome.

The spiky topped palm trees, waving gently at me in the breeze.

And two of the people

I care most about in the world

waiting for me to arrive.

This is it.

I am free.

I am floating.

I am home.

nature poetry
Like

About the Creator

Annie McDonald

Writing to heal and appreciate the world surrounding me.

Short  stories, memoirs, poetry and everything in between.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.