Poets logo

Home

A reflection

By Chelsea WiensPublished 3 years ago 1 min read
3
Home
Photo by Rowan Heuvel on Unsplash

Home

They say home is where the heart is

But I just don’t know

I miss so many places and faces

I’m not sure where to go

Holding onto what was home has left me mourning

Like trying to keep water trapped in my hand

They’ve all disappeared without a warning

My father, my Papa, and my loving Nan

So now I search

The wind for her laugh

The stars for his smile

I’m left with photographs

To reminisce for awhile

Home looks a little different now

A few dreams have all come true

I’m the maker of a family somehow

And my world just feels brand new

Now childish laughter fills my days

My soulmate by my side

There are still days I stargaze

But it’s happy tears I cry

So I guess they were right after all

Home is where your heart is, that’s true

And though there’s pain the past recalls

The love of your family will see you through

- Chelsea Wiens

inspirational
3

About the Creator

Chelsea Wiens

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.