Poets logo

Home Today

A poem about finally coming home

By J. LeePublished 3 years ago 1 min read
1
Home Today
Photo by Marc Ignacio on Unsplash

I hold a candle to the flame

And hear the wind

Whisper my name

I'm coming home-

I'm coming home today.

I've been out and about

Running out

of patience and time

Until it all came to end.

Now I'm coming home-

I'm coming home today.

At last,

I'll finally get to relax,

Kick back my feet,

Have my favorite thing to eat,

Push all my worries away.

Because at long long last,

I'm coming home-

I'm coming home today.

I'll fade into the black,

Hold onto all I lack,

And take the longest nap.

I'm coming home,

I'm coming home today.

I've been gone awhile,

Now it's time to smile,

Because I'm finally free.

I no longer have to hide,

Pretend that I'm fine,

Disguise the one that is me.

At last,

I'm coming home-

I'm coming home today.

surreal poetry
1

About the Creator

J. Lee

French enthusiast, non-binary trans person, artist, writer, lover of animals, space, and the right for every living thing to experience their existence authentically.

Pronouns: they/them (English) iel (French)

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.