Poets logo

Home to me is...

Home is heroes

By Thomas R Dorsett JrPublished 3 years ago Updated 3 years ago 2 min read
2
Liberty Monument, Ticonderoga, NY

Home To Me Is...

As I walked off the stage with my diploma in my hand, I wondered if there are people who were kind in this far off land.

See where I am heading people may die, I just hope that my family remembers why.

All my life I wanted to serve, to protect the innocent who don't deserve.

To be tormented by evil or oppressed by all, to stand for a cause to help them to never fall.

But with struggle comes sorrow and pain, pain brings far too much struggle and it maims.

Now that years have past and the plane comes back, I exit on wheels holding my pack.

I made many friends and loved several too, but after so much pain there are only a few.

I thought I would be totally alone, I saw how wrong I was when I returned home.

The flags the colors the ribbons abound, nothing more special than a loving hometown.

Times are tough and countries are strange, yet hometown folks and loved ones never change.

Everyone fights and makes poor choices, everyone speaks and talks in many voices.

However, one thing is always pure and strong, you hear it loud in stories and in songs.

Hometown heroes live in peace and forever smile, it has been this way for a long, long while.

Home is special, loving, and real, Home is honor, respect and a big deal.

Without it soldiers, sailors, travelers, and such, would feel no connection, roots, or a loving touch.

Home to me isn't a roof or grass under my feet, Home to me is knowing there are people to love and to greet.

They say thank you and honor me with full hearts so pure, Home isn't where the body lives it is the cure.

So as my chair moves on and my ears hear a new sound, of dogs, cats, children playing all around.

I know that my smile will be big, long, and real, for hometowns have heroes that are loved, missed, and are a big deal.

Home will always have heroes young and old, hopefully they will never have to be left alone.

The the hometown's who create these wonderful souls, hold them tight and never let them go.

Show them what home really means to you and to me, tell them you are there forever and they'll always be happy, needed, and free.

Home is heroes....

inspirational
2

About the Creator

Thomas R Dorsett Jr

Writers have a unique way of putting the imagination into overdrive. I have read and re-read several different classics and wondered what it would be like to write one someday. I hope to achieve that goal by my golden years.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.