Poets logo

Home Sweet Home

How old do you become when you visit the house you grew up in? Are you a child again?

By ayamePublished 3 years ago 2 min read
1
Home Sweet Home
Photo by Jaye Haych on Unsplash

I am dizzy and floating and so is home. The door tilts and shifts. My shoes scrape the rug when I walk in. Bright green pocked walls envelop me and I can’t see my relfection in the devil-warding mirrors.

My sneakers hit shoes tumbling from the hallway cabinet. I toe my sneakers off, kick and watch as they fly above the others and hit the back of the cabinet with a thud. I kick a path through the remaining shoes. I don’t bother to put them all away. It’s too messy and I know the wood drawers will push open as soon as I close it. I can’t fit right now. Maybe I’ll just stuff some shoes in, letting the rotten smell leave kisses of scent on my fingers.

I kneel in the hallway and survey my immediate surroundings.

My sister’s shoes. My mom’s. I feel the buttery insoles of her favorite fitflops. I stuff it all in the cabinet. There is no room. My pair of sneakers tumble out. This doesn’t matter. Not now.

I am vibrating.

I am humming.

I’m home I’m home no I’m not I’m not I’m home I’m home I’m a kid I’m at home no I’m not. My bare feet wince at the touch of cold hardwood before brushing by the rug tassles where I leap and dig my toes into the scratchy beige carpet.

I lean down and grasp a ball of lint and dust and hair. I haven’t vacuumed like I’m supposed to.

The table is set. It’s big like this so I run my fingertups across the surface. Dark wood with a bright red table runner. A fancy looking glass bowl sits at the center.

I finger at the woven table placemats like I’m perusing a fabric store, looking for myself in these memories, trying to feel something here like Shop Now at XXXX ST House 50% off Traumatic and Blurry Memories! Actually they’re free. And forced. I suppose my whole life has been forced.

The glass bowl holds fruit—apples, oranges, a pomegranite. When I push it toward it with my pointer and middle finger it doesn’t shatter. It lands with a thud on that scratchy beige carpet.

Oranges and apples roll across the hardwood. I think the floor is tilted. I don’t bother to pick anything up.

I grab the top of my seat at the dining table, a refurbished chair with black flecks of old paint still waiting for me to pick and. Wait. That wasn’t my chair was it? I think it wasn’t, fuck. I move to the right spot at this dark wood oval table, next to the head, the door to my front and kitchen behind me. The sturdy chair stubbornly sits—

— I throw the chair down.

surreal poetry
1

About the Creator

ayame

23, born and raised in the sf bay area.

dragon enthusiast, cloud-watcher, avid reader, and eager knowledge-absorber.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.