Poets logo

Home

Probably my longest poem.

By Rika LekayPublished 3 years ago 1 min read
11

***

Home is where I destress.

For starters,

I prefer a place of loneliness and solitude.

Because my sanity matters,

I need time to wind down and change my attitude...

And outlook on life.

Working in retail definitely has taken a toll on my mental state,

I'm sure there are many people out there who'd be able to relate.

***

Home is where I pick up a pencil,

And open up a journal.

Sketching out strokes of seemingly random lines,

And traveling to the deepest parts of my mind.

Digging up many interesting words from my shrine.

***

Home is a safe place to me,

And music just makes me feel free.

More free than I have ever been.

Singing my heart out,

And dancing without a doubt.

As long as my one-man audience enjoys it,

Who says I can't?

***

Home is where I can express myself.

The five-foot-two elf...

That I am.

Yes, I may be weird...

"But I was born this way," I always cheer.

Grabbing words from a shelf inside my brain,

Opening up to myself with my own traumas and pain.

***

Home is a quiet place,

That I always come back to, to embrace.

Silence is my saving grace at times.

I can focus on many prompts and ideas that my mind shares,

Or I can just read a book or story that interests me like a fiery flare.

***

To recap on what home is to me,

It's a place to destress.

It's a safe place.

It's a place to express myself.

It's quite a quiet space.

It's a place to hold all my creativity on the shelf.

It is home,

And I love this mini-kingdom.

slam poetry
11

About the Creator

Rika Lekay

Hi! I'm currently 20 years old and I love to write short stories, poems, novels, and writing prompts.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.