Poets logo

Home really is where the Heart is.

The heart that helps to overcome.

By Ronald T WhitleyPublished 3 years ago 1 min read
Like

Home

A simple word with emotional depth.

Something we can clearly define yet struggle to describe,

The why it is we feel that way.

Is it safety?

Comfort?

Family or our things?

It is a fluid experience and yet an unchangeable feeling.

Home can be here, there, or everywhere.

Home can be gone, lost, or nowhere.

For some of us Home is defined by the places.

For others, it's defined by memories of faces.

Without it, we struggle to identify ourselves.

And with it, we constantly test the limits of its wells.

I can think of four homes that I have had.

One where I grew up.

One where I became.

One where I matured.

Finally, the one where I am called dad.

Each one has its own special meanings and love. Memories Abundant and experiences among.

Home it is tricky, but for this simple man.

Home is the place where I feel that "I Can!"

sad poetry
Like

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.