Poets logo

Home:Poem

Embrace reality

By David LasowitzPublished 3 years ago 1 min read
Like

Home means to me what it should mean to you. A place where it's tranquil and peaceful, people don't argue.

Home means to me that in this home there are no afflictions although pain harbours from ones own addictions.

Home means to me that I fell, broken and homeless. Lost my soul. I wanted to shove all this and take another role.

I welcomed the streets as my new home, naive and prideful not sensing that this would bring an all new meaning to home alone.

Interstates and empty lots is all I had to keep me occupied. Not realizing that the deeper I sunk alone all I see is ghosts doing drive byes.

Killing me one after the other. Cars pass with no hope in sight. Until that magic day that God saw I had to fight.

A stranger not even knowing me, stopped and stepped right in front of me. In his hands, a huge bottle of water to ease my pain as the daylight soon turned to rain.

At this point I knew I had to change. Walking these tough streets no goal in range. I envisioned one thing, home. It's where the heart lies and innocence roam.

I had to make a difference, I had to prove it. I took a chance in hope not to blow it. The doors opened with tears of love.. as my mom soared into my arms like a dove.

I kneeled to the ground thinking how many times I screwed this woman over. I made a pledge that night that i'd walk through hell to be sober.

Fastforward a whole year. Home to me is still where it should be sober and relieved. Anyone can beat addiction all you got to do is... Believe.

inspirational
Like

About the Creator

David Lasowitz

My name is David, I'm 32 years old and have always had a desire for writing and the wonderful aspects of anything art. I've always thought I had a really on going never end creative mind and hope to write stories that will captivate anyone.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.