Poets logo

Home

isn’t a place…

By Siren Waters Published 3 years ago 1 min read
Like
Doctor’s Park

HOME

H

O

M

E

Yes say it with me now home

Home is where the heart is

Now where is home if there is no heart left

Where is home when I can't feel the obnoxious beating in my chest

No more boom boom boom boom

It all ceased when you and me stop existing as us one united front

Unstoppable, unfathomable, untouchable, just plain fanstatical

Until one day

The tears came and took away the smiles

The truth came and murdered all the laughter

The arguments came like thunder and we were no longer buddies

No more "fuck you thunder" just fuck you

You know that word with the four letters and the L out front?

That word we all long for that impeccable adjective which transcends the human understanding because its really technically a verb, something you do

Gives us warm fuzzy feelings all the way down to our toes

Holds us at night when we are cold

A bold proclamation that loneliness is on an extended vacation

Its just not the same

I mean don't get me wrong, I still feel that word

But the feeling is less like chocolate cake and more like a leftover mistake, a beautiful recipe for a delicious disaster

Home

H

O

M

E

Yes say it with me home

That place where I envisioned we would be

Where our l word would flourish

Our children would grow

The place we would eternally remain body, mind, and spirit

So let's hear it, three cheers for the broken dream of this American heart

Hip hip horray

Hip hip horray

Hip hip horray

With my heart in jagged displaced shards there is no where to place it

No heart, no home

Its an empty vessel

An emotionless cynic

A lying smile

Just hopeless no longer romantically involved

Home has evolved into a black expanse of space that suffocates all things light

It has become night with no stars

No moon to show the way

The time when two became one

No longer moonandsun

Just moon

Just sun

Satan won

I lost my home

But I lost so much more

Hope

Understanding

Faith

Strength

Vision

Passion

Want

Fight

Drive

Dreams

Joy

If I could be permitted to name a few

Homeless

H

O

M

E

L

E

S

S

Say it with me homeless.

slam poetry
Like

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.