Poets logo

Home

By S Baumann

By S BaumannPublished 3 years ago 1 min read
10
Dedicated to my mom

Home

The feel of your hair; dark, thick, coarser than mine, as it hung in loose curls far down your back.

Home

The richness in your skin that looked so beautiful and warm in all of its fawn-colored glory, an ode to your indigenous ancestors.

Home

The sharpness in your cheekbones, the thin point of your nose, the large, oval eyes with their umber irises that could see deep into your soul.

Home

Your smile. The smile that could light up a room and make all of my troubles melt away like ice cream on a blistering summer day.

Home

The deepness in your voice, thick and melodic, always knowing the right words to say to me to soothe my weary mind.

Home

Your laughter, a sound I miss deep in my heart; a sound I feel as though I have lost, like a dream I just can’t recall.

Home

The way you always smelled of Oil of Olay face lotion and Victoria’s Secret Heavenly, powerfully intoxicating, heady and sweet.

Home

Your slight stature, the way you felt so small when I hugged you, yet your hugs felt so strong and safe.

Home

The last phone call we shared, where we made plans to spend the day together and you laughed and we said “I love you”.

Home

You were my Home.

sad poetry
10

About the Creator

S Baumann

I love reading, being outdoors, and watching horror movies. I love anything scary or true crime. Sometimes it's the real monsters that are the scariest.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.