Poets logo

Home Note

The Tritone

By Gerard DiLeoPublished 3 years ago Updated 3 years ago 1 min read
Like
Home Note
Photo by Dani Arboleda on Unsplash

For home is where the hearth is;

Going is entering the cold.

Growing from hearthless to heartless,

Abjuring harmony's protection, discharging tonality,

Alighting on a discordant score,

Before the accruing dissonance.

Fleeing home I travel the staff,

Garnering the sounds of the world;

Gleaning my bespoke harvest of tones

Away from the home note of my anthem,

Appealing to the dark backbeat brewing--

B-to-F, one fourth at a time.

Feeling for strains that are beautiful,

Grasping refrains harmonic,

Gauging the ones that are terrifying,

Augmented tritones that vie for my song;

Against the strains I wage my fugue

But abandon all melodic sense.

F-from-B, the devil himself ,

Glaring discordantly along my measures;

Getting farther away from home,

Abroad the melody rots, my song spoilt;

Again I return to seek home's note,

Beside locked doors I reach for the key.

Finding myself at the hearth again,

Glowing with embers that play on for me,

Granting forgiveness for the shrill cacophony,

Around a song plucked with slings and arrows.

Anticipated again, my percussing hammer uncocks,

Bathing me in respite, resolving all worldly tensions:

The home note.

surreal poetry
Like

About the Creator

Gerard DiLeo

Retired, not tired. In Life Phase II: Living and writing from a decommissioned Catholic church in Hull, MA. Phase I: was New Orleans (and everything that entails).

https://www.amazon.com/Gerard-DiLeo/e/B00JE6LL2W/

email: [email protected]

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.