Poets logo

Home Means Home

Thank You Mom

By Rick Henry Christopher Published 3 years ago Updated 3 years ago 1 min read
9

Home Means Home

I asked my mother

What home means to her

The only thing she could say was

Home means home

I had to wonder

What this meant to her

I wanted to know because

Her home is my home

She said it depends

Whether you live alone

Or if you have family

Either way

Home is still home

In her gravelly voice she said

Family is your home

If you don't have a family

Then you need to find one...

If you have a gold fish

Then you have family

If you have plants that you water

Or dogs or cats or an old typewriter

Then you have family

Anything that makes you feel comfortable

Like my fuzzy old slippers

That is family

No matter what it is

When you have family

You have a Home

Even if there is no roof

Home means Home

inspirational
9

About the Creator

Rick Henry Christopher

Writing is a distraction to fulfill my need for intellectual stimulus, emotional release, and soothing the bruises of the day.

The shattered pieces of life will not discourage me.

https://www.facebook.com/groups/vocalplusassist

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  2. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

Add your insights

Comments (2)

Sign in to comment
  • Dana Crandell5 months ago

    Well, I'm sorry I missed this when it was written. A beautiful definition of home!

  • Babs Iverson2 years ago

    Your story is heartfelt! Definitely love your home poem! Bravo!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.