Poets logo

Home

Some of us are still searching for our “home”. And some of us have found it in a place just out of our reach…

By Olivia G. PodeaPublished 3 years ago 1 min read
8
Home
Photo by Jeremy Thomas on Unsplash

As I laid on my bed I stared up at the ceiling,

I stared, yet my eyes saw beyond its borders,

I was looking at the Stars with a hunger feeling.

“Where are you? Where are you? I can’t find you on my own.

Where are you? Where are you, my far away home?”

As I stared, the ceiling faded slowly away,

My bed began to rise, and all around me came Stars.

I laughed at them as they began to dance and play,

“Be free! Be free! No more sorrow, no more pain,

Be free! Be free!” Dancing ‘round me they sang.

Using my blanket as a sail, I flew across the sky,

The Stars raced beside me gleaming in the darkness,

We glided along, currents purple, blue, and green passing by.

Then all at once we stopped, the Stars stretching for years,

Singing soothingly enough to melt one’s ears.

I dipped my palm into their pools of fire,

Then my soul sang too as I drank the sweet burning nectar,

Each note with more flavor than David’s divine lyre.

“I can taste it! I can taste it, the place I’m longing for!

I can taste it! I can taste it, like never before!”

But the Stars swam away with sadness in their skies,

“No, not yet,” they sang as they went,

And in an instant they were gone like fireflies.

Back from where I came, my bed began to float,

I watched my home disappear with a lump in my throat.

Slowly down my bed began to sink.

Returning to my room, I laid my head on my pillow,

Half asleep, I gazed out the window and still did I think,

“Come back, come back, I can’t get there on my own.

Come back, come back, and take me to my home.”

surreal poetry
8

About the Creator

Olivia G. Podea

If you like my poetry please give them a heart! If you want to read more you can find my book, “A Thousand Lives: Poetry Collection,” on Amazon! Thank you! :)

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.