Poets logo

Home

A poem of hoem...

By Dave RowlandsPublished 3 years ago 1 min read
1
Home
Photo by Luke Stackpoole on Unsplash

I am home,

Home at last

The night is over, daylight rising

Where shall I lay my head?

The pillow is soft and inviting, the bed filled with warmth

Having nowhere else to call MY place.

This place, here, where I alone am King.

No Queen, no Lords, no Court Jester. Just me, alone with my guards.

Feline guards, purring their contentment at the arrival of their slave, the King.

King of what? Nothing more than my own existence

I hold no authority of life or death over any

But I am home.

Home at last.

And yet I cannot find sleep.

sad poetry
1

About the Creator

Dave Rowlands

Author and Creator of Anno Zombus, but don't let that worry you; I write more than just zombie stories.

Discover more about Baby's parents role during the Auspocalypse at amazon.com and come and join us at the Anno Zombus facebook group.

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  2. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  3. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

  1. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  2. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

Add your insights

Comments (1)

Sign in to comment
  • Brenton F7 months ago

    liked, hearted, subbed!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.