Poets logo

Home is Where the Pens Were

A poem of love

By Bryan HallettPublished 3 years ago 1 min read
3

She kept a pot

Of pens.

Mostly for simple puzzles that

“Wouldn’t tax her mind too much”

Whilst listening to the tele.

Up too loud.

“It’s just for background, really”.

Half of them didn’t work.

Or maybe half the sentence would emerge

Then just an impression

Of what you hoped to write.

Scratch, I’d go, another in the bin,

“This doesn’t work mum.”

“Well it was working fine. I don’t know what you’ve done to it.”

And then, I’m listing what she needed from the shop.

“Nothing much, the paper and some mi ,

Try this one then, it was fine yesterday,

When the postman came.”

All done, I returned,

But she wasn’t there.

A sentence, incomplete

A husk, a shell remained.

An impression

In her chair, where she’d sat, making cards.

Just background really.

And that pot.

Of pens.

I regret I never told h

sad poetry
3

About the Creator

Bryan Hallett

As prime suspect at a murder mystery company, I spend most of my writing time dreaming up interactive murder mysteries - but every now and then, another nugget of creativity shines forth and I love to share these where possible.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.