Poets logo

Home is where the Heart is

Is Anyone at Home?

By Gavin MayhewPublished 3 years ago 1 min read
Like
My Home

Home is where the heart is

But you broke it

The old clothes shop is where my second hand is

My foot is on the end of a soldier’s leg

My ankle is in my sock

The spare ribs are in the oven

With the joints

I also eat muscles

I left my stomach in the bathroom toilet

I am a bit of a dick

I cock things up

I talk a load of balls

I am an arsehole

And a bum

Unfortunately, I am spineless

My knee bone is next to the trombone

I live the thigh life

And I used to be a hippy

Lay some skin on me man

I do carpentry using my toenails

My fingernails pick my nostrils

I open doors using knee nobs

I shin up trees

I skull on the river

I wear an ear wig

I have my eyes on you

I can give you a good old tongue-wagging

I wax my ears

I keep a calf in my garden

I carry the weight of the world on my shoulders

A cough has taken over my chest

I have a sore throat

My nose runs

My feet smell

I am upside down

I live in my home

My home is my body

Word count 221

surreal poetry
Like

About the Creator

Gavin Mayhew

I am a retired artist who likes to dabble in a bit of writing, sometimes darkly humourous or sometimes with a social message - always quirky.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.