Poets logo

Home is Where the Heart is, and Mine is in the Earth

My soul is entangled with the roots of the trees, and my body in the dirt.

By Maeple FourestPublished 3 years ago 1 min read
2
Home is Where the Heart is, and Mine is in the Earth || Vocal Media Author || Poem Reading || Mae Fourest (YouTube)

“Home is where the heart is,”

is what they always say,

But won’t my heart be somewhere different,

on any given day?

My home is where my heart is,

and my heart is in the Earth,

My soul is entangled with the roots of the trees,

and my body in the dirt.

I thought I found it within him,

within her and within them,

But I couldn’t hear your voice

when you screamed, “I’m your ten!”

I would search for connection

in all the things that I’d do,

All the while wondering

why I couldn’t feel you.

Then I brought myself back,

to this present moment,

And I found you standing here

with your arms spread wide open.

You held me in your grasp

and I floated into you,

Falling down to the grass

was all I had to do.

I found myself within you,

and I found my one true home,

Because home is where the heart is,

and my heart has always shown.

My search is finally over,

even when I forget how much I need you,

And in those moments that I’ve forgotten,

my heart will always seek you.

My home is where my heart is,

and my heart is in the Earth,

I plant my feet like two large trees,

and feel the warmth of your dirt.

My home is where my heart is,

and my heart is here with you,

And when I lose that feeling in my heart,

I come running back to truth.

Home is where the heart is,

and mine is in the Earth,

My soul is entangled with the roots of the trees,

and my body in the dirt.

performance poetry
2

About the Creator

Maeple Fourest

Hey, I'm Mae.

My writing takes on many forms, and -just like me- it cannot be defined under a single label.

I am currently preparing for Van Life, and getting to know myself before the adventures begin!

Subscribe, Stay Tuned & ENJOY!

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.