Poets logo

Home is the ultimate noun

Ticking all the boxes

By Andrea N. BrownPublished 3 years ago 1 min read
5
Home is the ultimate noun
Photo by karl chor on Unsplash

Home is the ultimate noun.

Ticking all the boxes

Of person, place, thing, and idea.

Home is wine with my family,

the arms of my lover,

my closest friends

who may as well be my sisters.

Home is every place

I’ve ever fallen in love with.

Cafes and riversides,

where I grew up and where I am now.

Home is a messy stack of books,

a warm mug of coffee,

the notebook I reach for

when my hand itches to scrawl out a thought.

Home is my ability to adapt,

to transform any space,

to find the beauty

in a tiny apartment across the globe.

It is the feeling of ease,

my mind at peace

with where I am right now.

art
5

About the Creator

Andrea N. Brown

Always trying to live my coziest life. Fueled by coffee, long walks, stacks of books, watching the birds, and staring at trees. Writing keeps me alive.

Current inspirations: Billy Collins, Mary Oliver, Carlos Ruiz Fafon and Lily King

Reader insights

Nice work

Very well written. Keep up the good work!

Top insight

  1. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

Add your insights

Comments (2)

Sign in to comment
  • Stephanie Brownabout a year ago

    So well written! Love.

  • Brenton F2 years ago

    "Home is every place/I've ever fallen in love with" - nailed it! A house is not always a home!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.