Poets logo

Home is...

By Ken Cruz

By Kenneth cruzPublished 3 years ago 1 min read
2
Photo By Marlene Hernandez

Home is where they lay there heads

Where I don’t have to play pretend

Where I can be without end

Where I’ve sworn to protect

Where I don’t mind breaking a sweat

Home is the sweet scent as I kiss my fiancé’s neck

Home is the family we’ve built free of regrets

Home is the treasure of being together

A place where profound struggles abound

Yet somehow we always pull together to keep ourselves glued the ground

My other half and our amazing creations

We’ve been thru ups and downs

Smiles and frowns

But somehow a home together we have always found

Home is as simple as watching them sleep

Or as complex as trying pick the perfect place for a family of six to eat

Home is a place where we’ve shared weeps

Grieving over some who have left our home for greener pastures in the sky

Yet home is also where we have experienced joy so bright it could light the worlds darkest of nights

This home being broken is the only thing that brings my heart fright

For as long as we are together I know everything will be all right.

sad poetry
2

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.