Poets logo

Home is Heaven

A poem

By Dr. David YatesPublished 3 years ago 1 min read
14
Home is Heaven
Photo by Davide Cantelli on Unsplash

Oh home beloved, I don't remember

Your valleys fair and snowcapped mountains

Your peaceful hamlets, mid the trees

Your murmuring streams and crystal fountains

Kissed by the cool, soft, balmy breeze

Words cannot tell how well I love thee

*

Nor speak my longing, when I roam

On foreign land or distant sea

As time rolls by, my heart grows fonder

And yearns more lovingly for thee

*

My heart alone can cry to heaven

Where I was nurtured by thy side

In thy holy habitation

Did my spirit once reside

*

Thou hast placed me here on earth

To do thy will, to toil and slumber

I have learned to call you father

Thru thy spirit without number

*

Then at length when I've completed

All you sent me forth to do

Truth is reason; truth eternal

Let me come and dwell with you

surreal poetry
14

About the Creator

Dr. David Yates

You will find a piece of my life in everything I write. I am not a lover of words, but actions. If you're looking for TRUTH, you've come to the right place. I just want to share my story, in hope that it will enhance yours.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.