Poets logo

Home is a Good Book

The Written Word

By Julie LacksonenPublished 3 years ago 1 min read
41
Selfie by author

The written word is home to me.

I discovered this when I was small.

Story characters, like family

Can captivate and enthrall.

*

It all began with mom and dad

Reading stories nightly.

First picture books, then chapter books,

We soaked them up with glee.

*

From Dr. Suess to Little House,

And later, J.R.R. Tolkien.

With every word, my siblings and I

Took all that we could glean.

*

The written word is home to me,

Especially these days.

I’m quite content to find that I

Can write a pleasing phrase.

*

Now I like fiction, articles, and poems.

I read most every day.

And when I find I’m mesmerized,

I’m in my getaway.

*

My home expands, my world evolves,

I learn and I excel.

Just when I think I’m done for now,

New words put me under a spell.

*

The written word is home to me,

So books are like my friends,

And on my turf, I start anew

Just as the last tale ends.

A bookshelf my husband made - the most decorative of our three, but with the fewest books.

inspirational
41

About the Creator

Julie Lacksonen

Julie has been a music teacher at a public school in Arizona since 1987. She enjoys writing, reading, walking, swimming, and spending time with family.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.