Poets logo

Home Inside My Bones

The Sacred Temple Of My Soul

By Sarah JanePublished 3 years ago Updated 3 years ago 2 min read
Like

I’ve built a home

inside my bones

that comes with me

wherever I go

*

I've built a home

inside my bones

with the integrity of my hands

with the assurance of my mind

with the depth of my soul

*

I’ve built

a doorway into my life

It remains open

to new possibilities

new people

new experiences

but I choose when it will close

With a key that I've encoded

to unlock the my chambers

to turn the tumblers

of my being

*

I’ve built

support beams in my spine

to hold my head up high

Resilience and confidence

to help me carry the weight

of all the things

that would collapse otherwise

*

I've built

skylights in my eyes

to remain curious as a child

Open to see

the stars

the clouds

the birds

and all the facets of the world

with fresh eyes

*

I’ve built

a fire in my heart

to keep me warm

through the nights

To cook the food

in my soul kitchen

To nourish myself to life

*

I’ve sculpted art

to decorate the empty spaces

with the veracity of my tongue

with the vibration of my song

Creating masterpieces

from the pieces of the beautiful

and the forgotten

*

I’ve planted a garden

in the pastures of my mind

I sow the seeds of change

through my seasons

I nurture the sprouts to harvest them

and bring fresh food to my table

*

I’ve dug a well

of love

inside my soul

to refill my own cup

And when it’s full

let my cup runneth over

to my guests I cherish the most

*

I choose who can be

a guest inside my home

because my home

is my most sacred space

The one I built on my own

The scared temple of my soul

is my saving grace

art
Like

About the Creator

Sarah Jane

Writing has been Sarah's passion since she was 7 years-old when she began writing poetry and short stories. Now, she's sharing her gift with the world. Subscribe, and come take a whirl in her words.

Tips are appreciated!

IG: @sarahjane.speaks

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.