Poets logo

+home

Dorothy is Correct.

By Steven RicePublished 3 years ago 2 min read
1

For all the books read, classes taken, thoughts had, and all the in between, I feel a brain.

From crying on the floor to kissing in the dark, I feel a heart.

Battling my fears head on and being strong, I feel courage.

All the boxes pack and unpacked and the cities I have moved to, I feel tired.

Dorothy told us that “THERE IS NO PLACE LIKE HOME”, but home is more of a feeling to me.

The things I store and collect do not make a home. It does not matter what color of paint I pick or how I decorate my space, that can be done anywhere or any place.

Down my yellow brick road, I’ve collected friends and lovers. We have taken down wicked witches and called wizards out on their lies. As time flies (like a monkey with wings), these memories and feelings feel much more set in stone.

The ones I hold close to me will oil me if need be. They will wake me from a deep sleep in a field of poppies. I also want to keep them close by in the event I need to lend a helping hand. When I travel to other lands, the love for it fades after days. I click my heels and wish to return to my personal Emerald City.

Home is where you feel safe. You should not have a feeling that you are in a haunted forest. Troubles will always come, but will melt away like lemon drops with the support of your gang. I could live in a giant castle fit for a witch, but the feeling of home would be amiss. If I am casted away from those I love, it will not feel like home, more like a prison.

I was meant to have apples thrown at me from talking trees. As long as I have someone I trust by my side. We can get into other adventures like make a witch mad or have our names written in the sky. Life is a journey. You never know how long that journey is. So I would rather spend my journey with friends, family, and not a foe.

While surrounded by these amazing people, who seem to have come into my life by a magical bubble, I can use all my heart, my brain, and courage. This is the true power one could hold and to keep those loved ones close, gives you the true meaning of home.

*******************************************

I hope you enjoyed this skip down The Yellow Brick Road! It would mean so much if you subscribe to my Vocal Media profile. You can also follow my journey on Instagram, Facebook, and/or Twitter. You can find me on Clubhouse with the username @sirstevenrice. AND check out my podcasts and blog on my website. Again, thank you so much, stay safe!

inspirational
1

About the Creator

Steven Rice

Growing up I had many visions of what I wanted to be when I grew up. At times I was relentless on becoming a Power Ranger or a writer. After thirty years, the path that seems most obtainable is becoming a writer.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.