Poets logo

Home

Home a poem

By Alexa ModugnoPublished 2 years ago 1 min read
Like

Sometimes I lose myself, in the fluorescence of city dreams

Blending, and being, what does that mean to me?

To be so unified in a jungle of urban believers

Whose lives are lived in moments of in synch instances

I can be anyone here

In this fast, and far away place

From the home I know and where I was raised

Home is getting greeted with suffocating love

Intoxicating accolades that I am not pretty nor talented

I’ve had enough of being told I’d never be a star

In this small town its not who you are

It’s what labels you wear, the size of your house

Agonizing in adulthood, I’m forever trapped

In my own mind of believing I’m no one

Until I prove them wrong

I never knew who I was until I left home

A Hollywood star I had become

From parties and pictures and social delights

When I come home I’m just the person I’d always been

Invisible in my indignation to escape this hole

Yet freed in my perception that I can be anyone

Home is knowing you are loved

For what you play on the violin

And what your parrot sings it back

Home is knowing you are loved

For your real nose, wearing who you are

And knowing home will always be there

To come back to, to revisit memories

To understand that being a star

Comes from within

And without love, the earth would not spin

celebrities
Like

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.