Poets logo

Home country

Home is heart

By abhidipta mallikPublished 3 years ago Updated 3 years ago 4 min read
1
Home country
Photo by frank mckenna on Unsplash

Distant hazes of the mountains protrude the horizon,

Tears of joy in the form of streams glisten

Lavished with a wealth of fields of golden grains,

Bewitching always-shine or rains

Under the celeste sky, the way the green acres meet

Bequeathing a soothing, serene abode to greet

That is my homeland.

Adorned with meadows of aromatic flowers,

Replete with natural treasures,

The region is divine set far beyond all measures,

Splendid, land of dreams and luminous glories,

Rupturing with the glow of blooms ablaze,

As the pleasing winds frolic in their seasonal embrace,

Such an enchanting place,

A beacon, a surge of brilliance

This land that nourished and nurtured me from birth,

A magical wand, a magical land

That is my homeland.

Sorry!

That used to be my homeland

The place of my birth

The best place on earth

golden memories of childhood mirth

a billion dollars’ worth

That used to be my homeland

Alas!

That's the land where my forefathers lived for hundreds of years.

My ancestors streamed through the rivers.

They cultivated, plowed through the lands.

They preserved the culture

They protected the land.

Unfortunately!

Things changed, we became targets,

We were persecuted

We were forced to leave the land.

We became refugees in America.

My heart remained there

The yearning of returning to the land of fathers never faded.

The light kept on glowing-of the hope forlorn

Of reverting to the land where I was born

It has been four decades.

The situation has deteriorated.

Regrettably!

I forgot to acknowledge how this land embraced me.

The memories of my motherland left me blinded.

When we had nowhere to go,

America welcomed us with open arms.

I failed to appreciate the things America has done for me.

This country is my home, my chateau

This is the best home, the best bungalow

This is my children and grandchildren's birthplace.

Without this land, we would have perished.

I am forever grateful to this land and the inhabitants of this land

The star-spangled banner would persistently wave

"O'er the land of the free and the home of the brave"

Unbelievably!

My own people turned tyrannous

My own countrymen oppressed us

They made my motherland perilous

The good samaritans of America were so generous

I wish to give back to this land

which has done so much for me and my family.

Pledging allegiance to the land I strive to contribute to the progress of the nation.

This country is my final destination.

Wish I have my last breath in this land

which held my family's hand.

The land played the host

When we needed the most

I came as a refugee but never felt like an outsider.

When we lacked a roof, this country gave us shelter.

Can't thank enough for the warmth and amiability that we felt here.

So fallacious!

It used to be my belief that

there can be no other sand

who can understand

me like my motherland

I used to think that

there can be no other land

like my motherland

nobody told me beforehand

I was wrong. I was so wrong

I will love you always America-

love you the whole of you, America

you have shown affection for me.

will never forget what you have done for me

The noblest of nations, the nation with the maximum Nobel prize

The land of world-class athletes.

The proud flag with fifty stars adorns the moon.

The country will have a colony on Mars soon.

The land that shows the world path

The land of best scientists and innovation

The land of human rights.

Where else will you find people from all over the world?

It is the melting pot of cultures.

The astonishing diversities.

New York, California, LA, Washington DC -the world's best cities

The beautiful coastlines, the snow-covered mountains, vast forests

Yellowstone National Park, Maroon Bells- USA is awesome

Monument Valley, Crater Lake- USA is wholesome

E pluribus unum

Death Valley National Park, Niagara Falls,

The Statue of Liberty stands tall.

The list is endless

God bless America and keep Uncle Sam thriving

In the land of the saints and the crazies

The best and oldest lasting democracy

This is the world best nation

A favorite tourist destination

A land of applauding charities

With the citizens endeavoring for excellence

With the best entrepreneurs, enterprises.

The land of best musicians, movie makers,

Where the voices are not suppressed,

Freedom of speech here is not a myth

Where the rights are not breached

It is the land of comforts

Where your hard work is paid

courtesy the labor rights

The land of dreams allowed me to dream about my birthland

the land of dreams has a bright future in store for the next generation.

The land’s umpteen achievements

Includes the hard-earned independence, triumph with apartheid,

The fight for equality and justice continues.

It is the land of opportunity.

Where we made it big.

We feel protected. We feel safe.

We sleep tight, 911 never sleeps.

We enjoy the amenities as the marines remain on high alert.

I will love you always America-

love you the whole of you, America

The star-spangled banner would persistently wave

"O'er the land of the free and the home of the brave"

art
1

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.