Poets logo

Home and Heart

Misalign

By Thor Grey (G. Steven Moore)Published 3 years ago 1 min read
1

Home and Heart

October 3rd, 2012

Home is where

The heart is

But I don’t feel

A beating in my chest

Decisions to be made

Places to go

People to see

Things to do

The home

And the heart

Are similar

We only have one

May be many houses

May be many vital organs

May be other living places

May be other ways to live

But without a home

And without a heart

There is no way to survive

There is no way to live, to thrive

Home is where

The heart is

But I don’t feel

A beating in my chest

With regret I say adieu

To all I have made here

I’d said goodbye once before

To all I had made there

So to return

Is not to forfeit

And to return

Is to have grown stronger

It is with a wiser mind

I behold before me

A better person

A better life

I must not falter

I must endure

I must not get to be

As I had been before

Home is where

The heart is

But I don’t feel

A beating in my chest

performance poetry
1

About the Creator

Thor Grey (G. Steven Moore)

Since 1991, this compassionate writer has grown through much adversity in life. One day it will culminate on his final day on Earth, but until then, we learn something new every day and we all have something to offer to others as well.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.