Poets logo

Home

A Poem

By Esther MPublished 5 years ago 1 min read
Like

The sun beats down on my face.

My vision becomes a blur.

But my mind is highlighted with my old thoughts suddenly becoming clear.

I can finally see.

My hearing dims and the echoes of the people fade.

I'm walking, but my footsteps disappear like the color in the sky on an autumn day.

So does my bittersweet memories, like the tree leaves fall from the branches.

I feel nothing, but a bliss unidentified even for the eye to see.

Stronger than my addiction for a feeling of morphine.

The thoughts run through my head thinking if I ever had a home.

But the doubt only last until the path became bright.

I slowly am captivated and consumed by the freedom.

No hesitation whether my flicker died too soon like a candle on a winter night.

No pain of regret...just the promise given the day we were born

It's loyal, to guide us to something finally meaningful.

Where does this end to, am I just another memory left forgotten?

Am I disintegrated into an abyss, that no one can explain?

Or do I turn into the dirt and ashes of this walk about world?

I am finally safe, and cared in the loving arms of this eternal flame.

So this is it, this is where I finish my story, this is what I can leave so far.

I'll fade away, or I'll explode.

...But I'm finally home.

sad poetry
Like

About the Creator

Esther M

So much to say, but no one to hear. That's why I came here.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.