Poets logo

Hold on tightly

Shelter

By Georgia JonesPublished 8 months ago Updated 8 months ago 1 min read
4

I’ve often been told so often by so many people to hold on tightly to myself. Not to let the world break me, not to let any heartache change me or shape me into anything but who I was before I lived that life.

I am not a constant.

And the idea that not evolving is the same as being strong does not sit well with me.

I am not a solid structure - or architecture built to be one place and not the other. I am not a shelter, just as I am not the storm, but I can be both things in the same elusive moment. I was destined to know struggle and to walk the earth alone - strip layers of myself away in order to feel light of soul.

I am ever-evolving, transcending, and oscillating.

I am not your shelter. I can’t be your constant.

nature poetryinspirationalheartbreak
4

About the Creator

Georgia Jones

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (1)

Sign in to comment
  • Alex H Mittelman 8 months ago

    Wonderful! Great work ❤️♥️🩷

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.