Poets logo

His Pain

Some things just never change

By ABJPublished 3 years ago 1 min read
Like

I remember little Jimmy had chipped his tooth back in 5th grade. The middle schoolers will look at him differently, he felt out of place. He was a bright one, days were longer back at his place. Now I see why the universe had made him this way…

He’s getting older, a wise one. Momma had seen it, wondered why I couldn’t be one. I told momma don’t worry about me, I know some. New school, same praise, they know how to treat a real one…

I heard about how little Jimmy was getting bigger, man was always eating right. My house wasn’t a home, I couldn’t stay there at night. The world had seen visions, accolades made to fight. The big boy pants felt just a little too tight…

Last year was the most sinful ever. Harsh December, bad times, I was under the weather. Little Jimmy picked me up, told me to get it together. I hated that, all of a sudden he turned into a big brother…

Now this part of the story I can’t really speak too often. A glazed coffin. Who’s body in it, still can’t resolve it.

Murder was the case, bullets flown from a 44 magnum. I cried when I saw it, can’t believe it just happened…

The night was dark but a bright life I endured. Violence was obligated in this life for sure. I remember you, little Jimmy coming out the store. I just wish I hadn’t shot you, we could’ve talked some more…

I remember...back in mommas house on a warm, sunny day. We would make art with our hands, explore new ways to be free, jump to the heavens, seek out what was next in our lives, plan for days to come, express the true meaning of being us...That was the way...

sad poetry
Like

About the Creator

ABJ

Writer/Poet

Instagram: @abjthepoet

“The reality of writing is what you dream it to be”

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.