Poets logo

high thoughts

part 1.

By Priya GPublished 2 years ago 1 min read
Like
high thoughts
Photo by Clyde RS on Unsplash

(06.15.2021

)

I am high

like clouds in the sky

floating, drifting high. 

my thoughts are airy

and I’m in touch with the universe

the higher power,

trusting

listening

adjusting

my frequency, so that,

i am in the power to receive what

ever

it is, I am to receive.

This is why I enjoy

being high,

being airy and free

and nothing to wor-ry

about

like a child

playing,

playing on the grass

where it's between her feet

the gravel dust

on her way to receive

education

in a school. I

I am allowing myself

to receive whatever II am supposed

to

in this moment of time

where I realize how open

my mind

my eyes

my soul

is

if I allow it. 




South Africa

well, that’s a huge country.

i can take you through a journey

of growing up in dusty mining

town

to the desert of Northern Cape

and back

to the place of birth.

then known

as Witbank.

Northern cape, was the primitive

years.

years of being 5

and alive

to discovering my purpose.

At the time

it was unknown

as i grew old

and reflected

I was introduced to the purpose.

my purpose.

I enjoyed the act of dance

of play

of play pretend.

play pretend that i was britney

or beyonce

or mariah

the queens that set fire

on the charts

of the early 2000’s.

my school uniform was;

a blue skirt

a white shirt

white socks and black shoes

polished to the brim

the brim of tidiness,

and discipline ,

to look after yourself

as a kid.

The school systems were different than what

was to come and experience.

Memories I had with my grandparents

oh, those memories

hold space

the width

as wide as the sky

as deep as the ocean

and vigourous as the motion

of a hurricane,

that’s the space

those memories hold in my heart,

as a now 24 year old.

The taste of smarties ice cream

and walks around the lit

streets

with the Christmas lights

above me,

our simple brick house

with a huge backyard

I couldn’t complain,

I had it all.

surreal poetry
Like

About the Creator

Priya G

I really enjoy writing, it has helped me process and document my life, my journies, the good, bad & everything in between. My hope, is that you as the reader and fellow writers, take what speaks to you! Happy reading! :)

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.