Poets logo

Hey Mama

Tell Me What To Do

By Bravery TE WalkerPublished 3 months ago 2 min read
3
Hey Mama
Photo by Cristina Anne Costello on Unsplash

Hey Mama,

Tell me, how do I make friends?

It seems like all the kids hate me,

(One pulled down my pants).

.

They stole all my crayons,

Made fun of my hair,

And said I’d be alone forever,

Now the trash can is my friend.

.

It isn’t fair,

How people hate you without a care.

All the adults talk about hurt,

But then they sit on their hands,

.

When we hurt each other,

Don’t teach us to love another.

Then wonder why schools are shot up,

Viscous red next to the apple juice.

.

Hey Mama,

Tell me, how do I cook?

I tried to make some spaghetti,

And now I’m burned and shook.

.

I nearly set the house on fire,

Cried and panicked for hours.

Don’t want to try again,

But I want some bacon and eggs…

.

I’m stumbling through this world,

With no life skills.

I’m tumbling through the goal posts,

Hyped up on pills.

.

I want to photosynthesize,

Instead I’m paralyzed.

Grab a knife and a tomato,

Say a pray and push through.

.

Hey Mama,

Tell me, how do I get a job?

I want to be successful, but

Don’t want to lose my spark.

.

Everyone is ‘on the grind,’

I have a friend who wants to die.

And I’m fearing for my future,

For my life.

.

Why do we have to hurt ourselves,

To prove we’re worth life?

Isn’t living in this world,

Giving us enough strife?

.

I feel like I can make it,

But I just can’t shake it.

The feeling that one disaster,

And I’m done with this life.

.

Hey Mama,

Tell me, how do I get a lover?

I know this girl and, damn—

I really love her.

.

She’s just too good for me,

And I think I’m too ugly,

So can you give me some advice,

Say to her something nice.

.

It isn’t fair,

How love is a game,

But it feels like a war.

I want a player two.

.

I want her arms around me,

But my tongue is tied in knots.

Can’t I just walk up to her,

And skip a few years, tie the knot?

.

Hey Mama,

Tell me, why is the world unfair?

You’re the only person I trust,

Because you’re the only that cares.

.

I can feel myself becoming jaded,

With hatred.

But I don’t want to be like that,

So now I’m wasted.

.

Texting a number that’s no longer yours,

Tears down my face.

Wiping off the snot off my nose,

Calling myself a disgrace.

.

Life isn’t fair,

And I know this for a fact,

Because if it was…

It’d give me my Mama back.

sad poetryheartbreakFamily
3

About the Creator

Bravery TE Walker

I am a short story writer who is obsessed with fish. I have a very-not-alarming caffeine addiction and love a little bit of angst with my sugar.

All my socials! Come bother me!

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  2. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  3. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

  1. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  2. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

Add your insights

Comments (1)

Sign in to comment
  • Silver Serpent Books3 months ago

    This hits hard. "Don’t want to try again, / But I want some bacon and eggs…" strikes me as really remarkable writing. Not wanting to try but still having the need/urge to do it sets up the rest of the yearning tone of the poem perfectly. Wonderful job!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.