Poets logo

Hermit

Mode activated

By Nomfundo GumedePublished about a month ago 2 min read
4
Hermit
Photo by James Lee on Unsplash

I have been a bit drawn away from here for a while now.

I go through these phases I like to call “Hermit mode”.

Can I be transparent?

What the heck; that’s what my whole page is about.

I’m a pretty open being…

I am not sure that I like it.

It takes me away from the realities of the world.

It is almost as though time pauses or moves in a non-linear way for me during these phases.

I am still learning to like it,

After living with it for years.

Sometimes, I need to withdraw;

I get overwhelmed.

by nothing in particularly, but everything all at once.

I am still attempting to decipher if this is self-sabotage or quite the opposite;

Self-preservation.

It’s a weird inbetween for me.

Maybe - once I have figured it out completely, for myself…

I will come back,

Tell you about it.

I am not entirely sure if this is one we can relate on, but;

Tell me what thoughts this has evoked in you.

Tell me what feelings were reverberating through your body.

For me; I feel energised again.

I don’t judge what may have happened;

I simply allow what comes to come in…and pass through.

If it were a human interaction, it might go something like this:

“Hi. I am an emotion here to see Nom’s Subconscious.”

-Hi. Okay, does she know you? Does she know you’re coming?

“Well, I’m not sure, but she’s seen me before. It was a bit of an uncomfortable ordeal the last time. Either way, I must make my way to her.”

-Okay, hold on, I’ll let her know you’re here.

‘Hey. I’ve been expecting you. Didn’t know when you’d show up again, but sort of knew it was inevitable.

Come on in.

-Don’t worry, you can stay as long as you need to. There’s a time-limit to this visit though, so we don’t accidentally become intertwined. Thank you for coming back to teach me.’

This taught me that the feeling will come whether you invite it or not. If you invite it in, allow it to stay, and how you treat it while it visits; will all determine the relationship going forward.

So, how can you change or better your approach today?

Start with the emotion that’s coming up?

What is it telling you?

Lean in.

Let’s connect beautiful soul.

It’s been a while.

how toStream of ConsciousnessMental HealthinspirationalGratitudeFree VerseFor Fun
4

About the Creator

Nomfundo Gumede

I enjoy writing; engaging through story-telling.

I have found my stress-reliever and ended up falling back in love with a part I had forgotten about myself - Expression.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (2)

Sign in to comment
  • Ameer Bibiabout a month ago

    I really admire your work truly remarkable and appreciable

  • Great working Gumede❤️

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.