Poets logo

Here’s Your Warning

Watch out for the unknowns…

By Alexis Dean Jr.Published about a year ago Updated about a year ago 3 min read
3
Here’s Your Warning
Photo by Rosie Sun on Unsplash

The mirror showed a reflection that wasn't my own

This monster can’t really be me…

I was shocked once I sniffed my way home

Dizzily horrified over the sink…

The joyous dreams of mine are foregone

That bright future for me is bleak…

I fear the old me is almost gone

Because I’m slowly becoming a beast…

Blood boiling, vast shifts in my bones

Transformations happening underneath…

Hair growing, mouth starting to foam

Gums bleeding from the push of my teeth…

Mama warned Don’t venture alone

In the woods, things will hide and seek

Outside has many haunted unknowns

And they aren’t very kind to the weak

As she tightened my braids with her comb

Sat me in front of her between her knees…

Or as she tucked me in, she read poems

About creatures that secretly creeped…

She told me of kids who decided to roam

Cause they thought it was funny to sneak…

And left their family with only moans

And sad, long, hard lifetimes of grief…

I ignored her serious tone

Didn’t listen to the words she would preach…

There were nightmares that raddled my dome

But they did not strengthen my beliefs…

I can go wherever I want

I would say to myself on repeat…

Singing aloud my one favorite song

Any dumb monster can be beat

All of my life I’ve been injury-prone

Scraping and falling high from the trees…

But I’m afraid this seed that I’ve sown

Has no antidote or quick remedy…

Body heavy, an immovable stone

A bite mark oozing now with heat…

To the floor my body’s been thrown

These may be the last minutes I’m free…

I feel like I’m dragging along

Hearing voices and quiet peeps…

Saying Your pain will be atoned

Once you find something to eat

The time has come, my cover is blown

I’ve woken my mother from her sleep…

I can hear her asking What’s wrong

I can smell that she’s paces from me…

I want to tell her to be gone

But, I barely can shout or speak…

I’m not someone she’d disown

So I know either way she would see…

That I didn’t hear her warning

About creatures that secretly creeped…

I’m a kid who decided to roam

Cause I thought it was funny to sneak…

I will leave my family with moans

I will live with a lifetime of grief…

Mama warned Don’t go venture alone

In the woods things will hide and seek…

Outside has many haunted unknowns

And they aren’t very kind to the weak…

One of those bad creatures in her poems

Rushed and took a bite out of me…

Instead of fleeing, I came home

I thought it was the best place for me to be…

But now as Mama asks what’s wrong

I realize I did not really think…

I wish this could be all postponed

I get myself up shakily…

I feel the face that I once known

Dizzily over the sink…

And I look exactly like a clone

Of the beast I had to meet…

A voice tells me Child be strong

And that soon all the pain will cease…

I try hard to reach out my arm

To lock the door before it’s breached…

The voice says Relax now be calm

I crack the mirror and I scream…

Mama rushes cause she’s alarmed

I look towards the face of the beast…

The reflection wasn't my own

This monster can’t really be me…

Mama opens the door and I groan

Grab her neck, then start my feast…

Mama warned me about the unknowns

I should’ve warned her about me…

fact or fictionsurreal poetrychildrens poetry
3

About the Creator

Alexis Dean Jr.

Alexis “L.E.X” Dean Jr. is a clean Hip-Hop artist, poet, and educator from Milwaukee, WI. As a writer and music artist, he focuses on the importance of educating through his words and stories...

IG: @DreamsStartYoung

DreamsStartYoung.com

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.