Poets logo

Here's to You

Thank you.

By Kenzie HoytPublished 6 years ago 1 min read
Like

Beginnings are always scary.

As scary as they may be, they’re also liberating.

There is something so gratifying to know that you’re starting a new chapter.

The chapter after you, was terrifying for me to begin.

Was I ever going to heal?

Was I ever going to love again?

But I did, and that is something you will never take away from me.

This is my beginning.

You may still drift into my mind, but you will not control me like you did before.

You will not defeat me.

You will never own me like you did before.

This is my beginning, this is my story.

You will always be a recurring role, but only as a demon.

A demon of my past, trying to drown me in sorrow.

But I will float, and I will defeat you.

You will not take away the love I have found in myself.

This is my beginning.

And you are not a part of it.

inspirational
Like

About the Creator

Kenzie Hoyt

I'm just your average writer who wants a more creative space to share my creation.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.