Poets logo

Here Goes Nothing

:)

By ashley hessPublished 3 years ago 1 min read
2
Here Goes Nothing
Photo by Ivan Bandura on Unsplash

Hello there,

It has been a while since I shared a poem with you guys. This poem is something I wrote a while ago when I was in a dark place with myself as a person. My poetry professor loved it and thought I should share it with others. So, here goes nothing...

YOU’LL NEVER ESCAPE by Ashley Hess

UNDERWATER

reaching for the top

like it is the only choice I have

something sharp and spiritless stops me

from trying to swim to the top

LET ME GO

black barbed thorns

bloody brutalize me

every time I move

WHY IS THIS HAPPENING

beyond the thorns lie mirrors

everywhere laying at the bottom

of the water

STILL UNDERWATER

I look closer

and see a dirty blonde girl

staring right back at me

you’ll never escape if you don’t stop being scared

you’ll never escape if you don’t move on

you’ll never escape if you don’t try harder

you’ll never escape if you don’t forgive yourself

you’ll never escape

you’ll never escape

you’ll never escape

you

you

surreal poetry
2

About the Creator

ashley hess

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.